Bar Sketches

I’ve been telling myself for the longest time to sketch at cafes more often, but I don’t sit down for coffee often so it would take quite some effort. I decided this weekend I would do it but instead at a bar, since there are more interesting people. Andy Hood and I had a bit of trouble finding bars full of people at 5PM on a Saturday, but after a short walk, we settled on Tattooed Mom.

I drew the man in the red cap twice but I made his cap bigger in the second sketch because he seemed to have a lot on his mind…or he was just bored.

I drew the bartender (with the glasses) and it was a pretty lousy sketch. Then I realized how menacing his glasses could look, so he became the devil in my second sketch of him.

I sketched with this handy Faber-Castell pencil I’ve had lying around my house since I was a kid. I’m pretty sure this pencil is older than I am. It was totally untouched and unsharpened until this summer since it’s too big for normal sharpeners, but I whittle my pencils with knives now. After tonight, I think I’m falling in love with this pencil.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bar Sketches

  1. Matt Welsh says:

    You’ll probably find that Mom’s is consistently good for the people-watching. You may want to try McGlinchey’s, too. But you’d have to deal with smoke. Oscar’s might be a good choice also.

Leave a Reply

